Uncategorized

Clean Eating: Day 5

Today I woke up and was really excited because I had whole wheat tortillas that I made!  That meant there was only one choice for breakfast… eggs!
001
I scrambled one organic egg and added some of the fajita mix, which included peppers, onions, mushrooms, and spices.  On the side I had a piece of bacon, coffee and some berries.  I bought the bacon at Trader Joe’s and while I originally wasn’t really planning on eating bacon during the challenge, I was happy with the following ingredients : Pork, sea salt, raw sugar, celery powder, and spices.
003
While berries are in season they are my absolute favorite fruit.  I just hate how fast they go bad! 
004
I was off again today and decided to take some time and clean out the refrigerator.  Aside from there being some tempting foods still lingering, every shelf was in need a good scrub. 
In between my cleaning frenzy I made a tasty lunch.  My Grandma Mary always made this delicious shrimp salad so I made a version of it.  I am going to post the recipe at some point.
007
I put the salad over some mixed greens and heated up some bulgar on the side.  It was really satisfying and bursting with flavor!
019
Later in the afternoon I went for a run along Kelly Drive.  While I’ve been working out at the gym, it was the first time I’ve ran along the river since the marathon!  That was hard to believe.  But I ran 6 miles and felt great, aside from forgetting to bring water.  I wanted to get home so bad on the way home so I started sprinting up the hill every other street.  A guy stopped his car just to tell me “good job", which made me laugh but feel good.  Anyone who has walked the dreaded hills in Manayunk would understand.
Jay was waiting for me to arrive home because we were making pizza.  I made the dough the other night and I think I should have left the dough out instead of putting it in the refrigerator.  Either that or the water I used was too hot and killed the yeast.  The pizza had great flavor but the dough was more dense than we’ve ever experienced.  It was also the first time we used wheat flour and made pizza, which could have been the issue.
022
I still enjoyed my margarita style pizza with fresh mozzarella and basil.
Off to go relax!  Have a great evening!
One thought on “Clean Eating: Day 5

Leave a Reply

