Uncategorized

Orange you glad there’s a winner!

Yayyy there is a winner for my contest!  But first, I’m going to share a recipe experiment with you 🙂
I remember the first time Cate told me that her mom made a dish called orange chicken I was intrigued.  Really, what is this orange chicken?  But the first time I tried it, I was hooked! 
Her mom’s recipe is a crock pot recipe but I didn’t have as much time and really didn’t feel like waiting!  So, I decided to create my own rendition.
The star ingredients: chicken, spinach, mushrooms, French dressing and orange marmalade.  I added the spinach and mushrooms for some extra flava, texture and nutrients!
First, I rinsed all the veggies and made sure to pat them dry.  Then I threw them on the chicken.  There wasn’t too much measuring going on.  I used the whole container of mushrooms and half of the bag of spinach.
I then mixed the French dressing and marmalade in a bowl.  Again, I eye balled it.  I made sure that I did it in a bowl so that I could add as much or as little as I wanted and didn’t regret it after I dumped it all on the chicken.
Then I just made sure that everything was covered!  I put it in the oven for 45 minutes at 350°.
Once everything was nice and bubbly I decided that it was finished 🙂
I wound up putting the chicken over some cous cous,which was a good choice.  The textures worked really well together! 
It reminded me a lot of Cate’s mom’s dish and the veggies were a really tasty addition! I will definitely be trying this again 🙂
So onto the winner!  The winner of the NuttyGuys.com is… Heidi of Basil Vodka. Congrats Heidi! Just email me at allieatfood@gmail.com and I’ll make sure you get your prize 🙂 So much fun giving away things!!
9 thoughts on “Orange you glad there’s a winner!

  1. Ok, not even kidding…
    As I was leaving my comment, “Lady Marmalade” started playing on the radio at work. Is something weird going to happen to me involving marmalade? …I’m kind of excited now…

Leave a Reply

