Uncategorized

Keeping you entertained while I’m on vacation: I spoke at convocation.

I have always had a passion for writing.  When I was in kindergarten and we were asked to write about our summer vacation I wrote about spending my vacation the sparkling water and how I loved feeling the wind in my hair.  My teacher told my mom that she had a writer on her hands.
When I was about to enter Philadelphia University as a freshman, I received a letter in the mail about an essay contest.  All you had to do was write an essay about a teacher that influenced your life.  So, being the writing dork I am, I entered…and won.  
I wrote about my high school guidance counselor and I wish I could find my speech!  I know it is around somewhere so when I find it I’ll be sure to post it.
So what did winning mean?  It meant that I had to give a speech at convocation, the first day of school as a freshman in college.  And what did I do when I found this out?  I freaked out!
When I had written the essay I wasn’t exactly sure what winning entailed.  But the day of convocation I not only moved in to college, but also had lunch with the president of the school along with my guidance counselor, his family and my family.  And then…I had to read my speech in front of everyone beginning school that year.  I was informed that it was only 1,200 people.  Thank goodness my school wasn’t huge.
I was terrified and embarrassed.  I didn’t want to look like a dork in front of all my classmates.  No one even knew who I was and now I’d be known as the speech girl. 

My teacher is the third one from the left.
But that never happened.  After a lot of coaxing, I gave my speech.  I read it clearly and loudly.  I made my family proud as well as my guidance counselor.  It was a scary day but one I will never forget.
Leave a Reply

