Uncategorized

Meatloaf, smeatloaf, double-beatloaf. I LOVE meatloaf.

Yes, I just quotes A Christmas Story.  Hey, Christmas in July is quickly approaching, no?
For some odd reason I was craving meatloaf today.  Maybe it was the craving for comfort food.  Maybe I needed to protein.  Maybe I needed the deliciousness!
No, this isn’t your Mama’s meatloaf!
I found the inspiration here.  Mine kind of turned out to be a layered veggie/meat stack because the filling was just spilling out!  Inside the meatloaf was spinach, onions, garlic, Italian bread crumbs, Worcestershire sauce, egg, ketchup and roasted red peppers.
I actually roasted the pepper on the grill myself.  What a great decision!  It was so stinking good.  I’m definitely going to do this more often.
Believe it or not, meatloaf was once my favorite food.  Every year on our birthday my mom has us pick our favorite meal and mine was always meatloaf and cheesecake as my birthday cake.  So maybe I’m just converting back to my roots.
This bad boy was juicy, flavorful and deeeelish!
I also made some Freakishly Fantastic Faux-Fried Zucchini.

These babies are crispy and moist at the same time.  Is that even possible?! Oh yes it is. Dipped in some grainy mustard.
Overall, I was totally digging this meal.
And then at work today one of the owners slapped these bad boys on my desk.  I looked at him like, are you kidding me!?  Are you kidding me because they look so delicious and are you kidding me because I am really trying to not eat stuff like that!!! So I treated myself to one pretzel, gave a bajillion away and then put the rest up at the front desk.  I just can’t deal with temptation.
So for real, no dessert tonight!
2 thoughts on “Meatloaf, smeatloaf, double-beatloaf. I LOVE meatloaf.

  1. 1) I love A Christmas Story – it is on our TV for all 24 hours when it plays on TBS.

    2) That meatloaf looks yummy- my family loves meatloaf too.

    3) That pretzel looks delicious – the only reason why I can practice self control is due to my gluten intolerance 🙂 Otherwise I’d be all over that!

    1. Haha it was so weird, the meatloaf quote just came to me and I was craving it so I knew I had to go with it! It was really good, just not too appetizing looking. And woahhh were they good, I could have eaten the whole box!! That stinks about your gluten intolerance!

Leave a Reply

