Uncategorized

Gym Buff

I was hungry again in the afternoon so I had some sea salt pita chips! Hit the spottt.
Driving home at 4:30 is always tricky!  You never know if you will be ahead of the traffic or smack dab in the middle of it all.  I lucked out today and made it home by 5:20.  Yipee!
I had a lingering headache all afternoon that was really bothering me.  Last week  I had an eye doctor appointment and got new contacts so I’m not sure if it is that or just allergies.
I intended on going to the new gym I signed up for but it was too nice out!   I was  anticipating it opening for a few months so I was surprised when Jay said they opened this past weekend!  I missed out on becoming a member for $1 before they opened but I didn’t pay too much more.  And the best part is, it only costs $10 a month!
So I know what you’re thinking…why did you join a gym if you WORK at a gym?!  Well, it may seem kind of crazy, but some days, like today, I just want to head home.  It is nice to just hop in my car and get some fresh air before working out.  Plus, if I work out and stay, sometimes the traffic is just unbearable by the time I leave an hour or so later.
I’ve come up with some pros and cons about working out at each gym.  These comparisons are only based on my experiences.
Work Gym Gym at Home
+TONS of awesome classes               +A lot of cardio equiptment!
+Tvs on the cardio machines!                +A small monthly fee
+Towel service 🙂                                  +Cardio machines have fans!
+Can workout with work friends           +So close to home!
+Free!                                                                +Brand new!
-Too tired right after work                  -No towel service
-Need some fresh air!                             -No classes
-Traffic is usually worse if I stay
So there are the positives and negatives of me working out at both of the gyms.  I am so lucky to have the opportunity to work out at any of the facilities that my gym owns, but sometimes it is just nice to be close to home 🙂
We grilled again tonight!
I prepared the side dishes: sauteed peppers, onions and mushrooms, steamed broccoli, corn on the cob, sliced avocado and sweet potato fries!
My Dad made the steak!  He is  awesome at grilling, it was delish!
I’m not really much of a steak person, but on occasion I enjoy it.
I bought these sweet potato sticks already pre cut (at Trader Joe’s!) so they were really easy to make into fries 😀
I just tossed the sweet potato pieces in olive oil and some garlic salt and baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes!
So simple yet so so good!
For dessert I had:
After dinner I took Sandy for another wog (walk/jog 😉 )  As I mentioned earlier, it was just too nice of a night to be inside the gym!  I know it is going to start getting really hot so I need to take advantage of these gorgeous nights while I can!
Now I’m going to shower and catch up on some reading!  I started reading
Awhile ago and LOVE it!  It is just a matter of finding the time to sit down and actually read it!  I’m looking forward to a nice relaxing night 🙂
Leave a Reply

